Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter


© Amy Hansen

In 1995, seven young Faroese musicians formed an ensemble with the main purpose to perform and promote Faroese music. This ensemble is Aldubáran. Today Aldubáran has 13 members playing the flute, clarinet, bassoon, french horn, trumpet, trombone, violin, viola, guitar, and piano. This rather untraditional combination of instruments makes for great diversity in concerts and gives scope for composers. Aldubáran has commissioned and premiered a vast number of works by Faroese and international composers which have been well received by the press and public. Composer Sunleif Rasmussen and the musicians in Aldubáran are the first generation of professional musicians in the Faroe Islands, and the close connection between them has played a dynamic and integrated part in the development of Faroese music. The group has undertaken many projects throughout the years but without a doubt, the biggest one has been the commission of the first Faroese opera, The Madman’s Garden (2003) by Sunleif Rasmussen. An augmented Aldubáran with Bernharður Wilkinson, conductor, gave its première in 2006 to great critical acclaim from some of the most respected international music magazines and newspapers.

  • Sunleif Rasmussen

    Andalag – Solo and Ensemble Works

  • Sunleif Rasmussen

    Dancing Raindrops