Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter

Thomas Søndergård

© Martin Bubandt

Danish conductor Thomas Søndergård is Music Director of Royal Scottish National Orchestra, following six seasons as Principal Guest Conductor. He served as Principal Conductor of BBC National Orchestra of Wales 2012–2018, and before this, as Principal Conductor of the Norwegian Radio Orchestra for three seasons.

Thomas Søndergård has conducted many leading orchestras, including BBC Symphony, Royal Concertgebouw, Philharmonia Orchestra, Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen; the London, Oslo, Rotterdam and Royal Stockholm Philharmonic orchestras, the Danish National, Berlin Radio, Swedish Radio and Finnish Radio Symphony orchestras; the Bamberg, Berlin, City of Birmingham, Cologne (WDR), Chicago, Gothenburg, London, Toronto, Sydney, Atlanta, Houston and Seattle Symphony orchestras, and leading tours with Junge Deutsche Philharmonie and European Union Youth Orchestra. Previous opera engagements include Bayerische Staatsoper, Norwegian Opera, Deutsche Oper Berlin, Royal Swedish Opera and Royal Danish Opera.

Commercial recordings with BBC National Orchestra of Wales include Sibelius’ Symphonies 1, 2, 6 & 7 and a disc of Sibelius’ tone poems and theatre music (Linn Records). His first release with Royal Scottish National Orchestra features music by R. Strauss: Ein Heldenleben and the concert suite from Der Rosenkavalier (Linn Records).

  • Bent Sørensen


  • Rued Langgaard

    Complete Works for Violin and Piano, Vol. 2

  • Poul Ruders


  • Per Nørgård


  • Bent Lorentzen


  • Poul Ruders

    Kafka's Trial